Board of Governors

John Rowe – Chairman
John Rowe has been a Governor of St Andrews Hospital Toowoomba since August 2007. 
An Elder at West Toowoomba Christ Life Presbyterian Church, Mr Rowe also serves as vice-chair on the Committee of Management.  With Bachelor of Business, Mr Rowe worked for many years as an accountant before establishing his own animation and visual effects company.

Nathan Bouchier – Vice Chairman
Nathan Bouchier was admitted as a solicitor of the Supreme Court of Queensland in 2006 and principal of Bosscher Lawyers Toowoomba and Ipswich firms. He holds degrees in commerce and law from the University of Queensland. Mr Bouchier is a member of the Toowoomba Christian Reformed Church and was appointed a Governor of St Andrews Toowoomba Hospital on the 20 June 2011.
Paul McMahon – Treasurer
Paul McMahon has been a St Andrews Hospital Toowoomba Governor for over seven years. His career spans senior executive media roles, service on numerous boards including the University of Southern Queensland council and a background in agriculture. Mr McMahon holds an MBA, Bachelor’s degree in Business, and is a member of CPA Australia.
Jan Saunders – Governor
As a founding member of St Andrews Hospital Toowoomba and an inaugural Auxiliary member, Jan Saunders has been an integral in the growth of the hospital. She has served as a Governor for five years and Auxiliary Secretary since 1998. Ms Saunders has an extensive background in client services working in dentistry for 25 years and patient support services for 11 years.
Greg Skelton – Governor
For almost 20 years, Greg has been committed to providing the highest standard of service to Queensland’s elderly. A qualified CPA with a degree in business and an MBA in strategic management, Greg is also a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. He serves on the Presbyterian Church of Queensland Finance and Administration Board and is CEO of PresCare, a Ministry of PCQ.
Reverend John Gilmour – Governor
Following 25 years of business experience, Rev John Gilmour joined the Church and dedicated 18 years to congregational ministry, during which time he served the Church on multiple state committees.  He was the State Moderator for the Presbyterian Church of Queensland in 2008. He was also a Governor of the Presbyterian and Methodist Schools Association Council from 1998 to 2011 and Chairman of Clayfield College from 2003 to 2011. He now serves as the Director of Chaplaincy for PresCare, the aged care ministry of the Presbyterian Church.
Dr David van Gend – Governor
Dr van Gend is a Toowoomba GP, a senior lecturer in the Rural Clinical School of Medicine, University of Queensland, and a visiting medical officer at St Andrew’s since 1998. He is the representative for GP Queensland on the Queensland Health Working Group on Paediatric Palliative Care and on the medical advisory committee of the Toowoomba Regional Hospice. Dr van Gend has produced educational material on behalf of GP Connections for RRMEO (Rural and Remote Medical Education Online) and is a prominent contributor to public debate on bioethical issues.
Mrs Jeanette Loxton – Governor
Jeanette Loxton has a Civil Engineering degree and over 16 years’ experience working for the major international engineering firm – GHD. In 2010, she was GHD’s acting Global Service Line leader for Water Distribution and Transmission. Ms Loxton has a postgraduate diploma in Divinity and Mission. She is a Director of Fairholme College and is chair of the Audit and Compliance committee of the Board. She is a member of the Institute of Company Directors (MAICD) and the Institute of Engineers Australia.
Dr Tim Porter – Governor
Dr Tim Porter is a specialist General Surgeon in private practice in Toowoomba and Senior Lecturer with the University of Queensland. With a basic degree from University of Queensland, he then completed surgical training at Royal North Shore Hospital, Sydney obtaining the FRACS in 1983. After 3 years’ experience in the UK, he began practice in NSW in Bowral and Wagga Wagga before coming to Toowoomba in 1998. He was secretary of the Riverina Medical Association in Wagga Wagga and locally, has been Treasurer and President (2009-2012) of the Toowoomba and Darling Downs Local Medical Association.
Ian Andersen – Governor
Ian Andersen has been a director of Fairholme College (Toowoomba) Pty Ltd since 2000 and Chairman of the Board since 2007.  Mr Andersen has held a variety of finance, administration and stakeholder management positions in both public and private sector organisations. He is a former Board Member and Treasurer of the Toowoomba CBD Task Force.  He currently serves on The Presbyterian Church of Queensland Finance and Administration Board and the Committee of Management at St David’s North Toowoomba Presbyterian Church.
Dr Neil Parker – Governor
Dr Parker lived in Bangladesh for 14 years, first as Medical Superintendent of a village hospital, then as Director of a rural development project. Back in Australia, he established the Darling Downs Public Health Unit.
In 2010, Dr Parker was registered as a minister with Queensland Baptists and works part-time as a pastor. He has been state education coordinator and nationally, lead fellow for teaching and learning for his specialty (Public Health). In addition, his Board experience includes the local division of general practice, an aid agency (Symbiosis) and Queensland Baptists.
Dr Parker has served on various committees with Queensland Health and is currently a member of the Toowoomba Human Research Ethics Committee.
Elizabeth Farr – Governor
Elizabeth Farr has been a Registered Nurse since 2005 having completed her Bachelor of Nursing. Prior to being a Registered Nurse, Liz was an enrolled nurse since 1978 having worked in various hospitals and aged care facilities in NSW. She has also worked as a Branch Manager for a health fund in NSW.
Liz is currently working as a Community Nurse and is completing her studies for a Master of Nursing.

Will Laird - Governor

William (Will) Laird is a Chartered Accountant and Chartered Tax Adviser.  Will is a Director of Business Advisory at RSM Bird Cameron and is recognised as a leading tax and commercial advisor with more than 16 years’ experience. Will was the recipient of the University Medal at the University of Southern Queensland and was awarded the prestigious 2012 President’s Prize by the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia (now CAANZ). 


Find A Specialist

The hospital employs approximately 500 staff with over 270 credentialed Visiting Medical Officers providing services to 22,500 patients annually.


Learn More

Hospital Map

St Andrew's Toowoomba Hospital is a 137-bed, acute care private hospital situated on the north-western side of Toowoomba.

Learn More

Job Opportunities

St Andrew's Toowoomba Hospital values the contribution of all of our staff. We recognise that retention of staff is as important as recruitment!



Learn More

News & Events

A Surgical First for Women’s Health

Women in the Toowoomba and Darling Downs region suffer...
10 Apr 17 | Read More

Donation Provides “Breath of Fresh Air” for Terminally Ill Patients

The St Andrew’s Palliative Care Support Program, provi...
14 Mar 17 | Read More

Hospital Accreditation

St Andrew’s Toowoomba Hospital is a teaching hospital for the University of Queensland (UQ) and is member of the Australian Private Hospital’s Association (APHA) and the Private Hospital’s Association of Queensland (PHAQ). The hospital is also accreditated with the Australian Council on Healthcare Standards (ACHS).